top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnie Dupee

Here's What I'd Wear

One of the minor inconveniences of quarantine is that I have nowhere to go, and therefore have little reason to wear my favorite outfits. So this blog post is my way of sharing what I would be wearing if I ever left my flat.


One of my best friends from college, Rach, is a fashionista. I mean that as a compliment; she wears the cutest outfits every single day, and her make-up is always immaculate. I used to feel self-conscious next to her, because the stuff I wore was never as cute. Or I wasn't quite as dressed up as she was (she wears a lot of skirts) and so I felt underdressed.


Our friends went out to dinner once for Galentines Day, and the dress code was all over the map. Rach had on a gorgeous skirt and heels; I had jeans, a nice shirt, and new lipstick; and our other friend, who was having a bad day, came in grey sweats. But Rach told us that she never cares if the people she's with are wearing something similar to her - she thinks everyone should wear what they're comfortable in. And if we all look like we're headed to different events? Who cares!


Hearing that gave me so much confidence. I really like shopping for new clothes and putting together new outfits. And it doesn't matter to me if the people I'm with are wearing something more casual, or even something fancier - if we're all comfortable in what we have on, then who cares?


Thanks Rach - I can't wait to get coffee looking cute together soon <3


 


Shirt: TK Maxx

Leather jacket: hand-me-down

Purse: TK Maxx

Capri leggings: hand-me-down

Shoes: TK Maxx

Necklace: gift



My favorite piece of this outfit is the shoes. They're kind of high-tops, and instead of being plain black, they have these fun stripes that add some interest to the look. The pink shirt is soft and a little bit flowy, so the tightness of the leggings and jacket give the outfit its structure. The purse and necklace are both in earth-tones, letting the pink shirt draw the eye as a focal point. The necklace has sheet music and the word 'sing' in it. It was a gift from my mom.


 


Coat: Primark

Shirt: charity shop

Pants: TK Maxx

Shoes: Marks & Spencers

Bracelet: pop-up at a hot-air balloon festival



My favorite part of this outfit would either be the shirt or the shoes. I love the embroidery on the shirt - it's what ties the whole outfit together. The red coat draws out the red threads in the flowers and matches the red backs of the shoes, while the pink fronts of the shoes match the pink threads in the flowers. I'm a big believer that red and pink can be worn together without clashing, which is why I love these shoes so much.


These pants are also a new favorite. They look like a simple black dress-pant, but the material makes me feel like I'm wearing sweatpants. They're stretchy and comfortable, but still look professional. The bracelet is made of leather, painted with colors that can all be found in the shirt's embroidery. I got it at a hot-air balloon festival, but I cannot remember the name of the pop-up I bought it from (I also didn't see any hot-air balloons at that festival. It's kind of a sore point for me).


 


Earrings: Fair Trade Friday

Blazer: Chico's

Dress: Sainsbury's

Shoes: Payless(?)



Cameo ring: Etsy

'Holmes' ring: Etsy (the matching 'Watson' ring is worn by my twin sister)

Celtic ring: jewelry shop on the Royal Mile

Black ring: Sainsbury's

Gold ring: pop-up in a coffee shop in Chicago

Nail Polish: Russian Roulette by Essie (it matches the blazer perfectly!!)


My favorite part of this outfit is the blazer. My mom bought it for me, and I wear it all the time (or I used to, when I went places). The material is thick and warm, and the color is so fun! It's the perfect companion piece for this dress. Because the dress has such a busy and colorful pattern, I will always pair it with a plain jacket. There are so many colors on this dress that I could choose a jacket in almost any color - yellow, green, red, orange, pink - and it would still work perfectly.


The shoes are a simple black wedge, and I think I got them from Payless, but I can't be sure. Two years ago, I asked for earrings for Christmas, and my sister-in-law signed me up for Fair Trade Friday's earring of the month club! These earrings were made by women who have been rescued from human trafficking.


 


Sweater: TJ Maxx

Skirt: Zara

Shoes: charity shop

Earrings: hand-me-down

Bracelet: hand-me-down



I'm not sure I can pick a favorite piece from this outfit. I love the turtle-neck sweater, and how the stripes break up the monotone of the off-white shirt-and-skirt combo. I love the skirt, and how twirly and whimsical it is. And I love these shoes.


When I was in high school, I almost never wore heels. I'm five feet, ten inches tall, which already feels way too tall most of the time. Adding more inches? Too much. It wasn't until college that I realized I love wearing high heels (mostly because of the clicking sound they make when I walk) and so I started wearing them more. I stopped slouching and started standing up straight, unbothered by the fact that I tower over most people. It's been a big confidence boost.


The bracelet and earrings were my sister's before they were mine. I tried to get a picture of the earrings in my ears, but they wouldn't stop swinging, so all the pictures came out really blurry. This outfit has so many different textures - the thick wool sweater, thin organza skirt, lace shoes - that I wanted to keep the colors fairly simple, so I went with purple jewelry to match the purple shoes.


 


Necklace: The Best of Everything

Blazer: Repurposed

Dress: Gap

Watch: FitBit

Purse: gift

Shoes: TJ Maxx



This blazer is one of my favorite finds. I got it from a thrift shop called Repurposed, and it cost me $6! It looks chic and professional - I actually wore this outfit to an auction once. The dress is a simple shift dress, so the structure of the blazer pulls in the waist so I don't look like a shapeless blob. The necklace pulls the outfit together: the pink stones are accents for the pink dress, and the blue purse draws out the blue stones. I also love these shoes - short wedges with little pink flowers on them.


 


As much as I love my cute outfits, this is what I really look like. Every. Single. Day. Just ask my flatmates - I haven't changed out of this outfit in weeks.


Book Recommendation: Dragon Slippers by Jessica Day George. It's about a young girl named who's a seamstress. Her aunt puts her in danger of getting eaten by a dragon in order to attract the attention of a knight, who will hopefully be chivalrous enough to marry her. Creel ends up with a treasure from the dragon's hoard - a pair of slippers. But they aren't ordinary slippers at all.


It's been a long time since I read this book - it's YA bordering on Middle Grade. But I remember really liking it. Plus, if I had a pair of dragon slippers, you know I'd be wearing them with every outfit.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page